Stamp Image Bursting software

News items. General trends, new issues, new policies etc. **Whatever** you like. WORLDWIDE. Start a new thread on your question. Please do not discuss ebay in THIS forum as we have a separate and popular Forum for that discussion.

Moderator: Volunteer Moderator Team

jadrake
WINNER! Stampboards Poster Of The Month

Stamp Image Bursting software

Post by jadrake »

I have written a few tools to assist my stamp collecting. As a software architect by trade, I often using these tools as technology learning platforms to learn new techniques and area of the field (with the side benefit I can help organize my collection). One such application is my Stamp Image Bursting application.

This application was written because none of the image editing applications available to me allowed me to quickly burst a scanned image into smaller images and distribute these across a file structure. Currently I use a web-based application for managing my collections and the stamp images are stored on a static web-site under their country name by catalogue number. This application was written to try and reduce the number of clicks and key strokes as well as automatically handle the country folder heirarchy.

I put together a short video demo and uploaded it to Youtube to demo: http://youtu.be/228XRlCnHiM.

If there is any serious interesting in using it, in order to make it available to others, I need to modify some underlying code to not be dependent on my web-services and I need to resolve some licensing information on some third-party software I am using to be in compliance with their licenses. This isn't a huge amount of work, but it would be taking up my spare time (or lack thereof). :-)

I would make it freely available to anyone for use

Please take a look and let me know. I could probably have sometime available to release it publicly by New Years if there is interest.

Thanks

-Jason