The UK Postbox thread - we want your pics!

News items. General trends, new issues, new policies etc. **Whatever** you like. WORLDWIDE. Start a new thread on your question. Please do not discuss ebay in THIS forum as we have a separate and popular Forum for that discussion.

Moderator: Volunteer Moderator Team

Bill H UK
I was online for Post Number 7 MILLION!

The UK Postbox thread - we want your pics!

Post by Bill H UK »

Since spending far too much time on the 'Hunt the Postbox' thread, I've got quite interested in the UK's wide selection of historic street post boxes. I'm no expert, but I am learning!

The purpose of this thread is to share photos of any rare, unusual, historic or simply beautiful post boxes which we come across....

I'll put up any I find, but everyone's welcome to add their own. I'm calling it for 'UK Postboxes', but any British boxes in far-flung parts of the Empire are also welcome.

First up, a fine example of a Victorian 'Penfold' hexagonal pillar box. This is still in use, and stands in Shrewsbury town centre.
IMG_20190821_120612370 (1).jpg
And an example of what I mean by simply a pretty box. It's set into a water mill in the village of Lower Slaughter, Gloucestershire. Nothing special about it, just a standard KG5 wall box - but doesn't it look lovely?
IMG_20210630_174510249 (2).jpg

Bill H UK

Re: The UK Postbox thread - we want your pics!

Post by Bill H UK »

Here's a very rare item, known as a 'K4' - a strange hybrid of telephone box, letter box and stamp vending machine.
Apparently, only 50 were cast (they didn't catch on) and only 4 remain in use.
This one is in Frodsham, Cheshire. Still a working telephone box and post box, but sadly the stamp machines have been painted over!
IMG_20210425_140410785 (1).jpg

Bill H UK

Post by Bill H UK »

Another rare one - a Victorian 'fluted' design. 12 remain in use on the streets. This one is in Great Malvern, Worcestershire.
(Great Malvern has 3 of the remaining 12)