Is anybody else having this board display problem using CHROME??

These boards are a cinch to use, but if BB's are new to you, here are a few basic tips for new users to help you settle in. How to post, edit, how to add photos or avatars etc. Who are the Board Moderators etc. Please feel free to ask questions or add suggestions yourself. Add threads here re any technical issues that might concern you.

Moderator: Volunteer Moderator Team

User avatar
castores
2500 Stampboards Post - Senior Guru
2500 Stampboards Post - Senior Guru
Posts: 2995
Joined: 11 Oct 2016 20:22
Location: Canberra, ACT, Australia

Re: Is anybody else having this board display problem using CHROME??

Post by castores »

BigSaint wrote:
11 Mar 2021 18:59
How does one tell the difference?
I don't know if this is of help but I just went into chrome settings, last option was "about chrome", clicking on this showed what version of chrome I was using. Edge is probably much the same - have a look around in settings...
Australia : Islands : various countries : Thematics : etc

User avatar
BigSaint
WINNER! Stampboards Poster Of The Month
WINNER! Stampboards Poster Of The Month
Posts: 83955
Joined: 16 Nov 2012 11:26
Location: Cheltenham, Australia

Re: Is anybody else having this board display problem using CHROME??

Post by BigSaint »


Edge.png

Thanks Castores it's Chrome. :)
Specialist Collector of World Horse Racing Covers, Melbourne Cup & Kentucky Derby, & JFK fdcs.

User avatar
nigelc
I was online for our Birthday Number 3!
I was online for our Birthday Number 3!
Posts: 5735
Joined: 10 May 2008 02:36
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Is anybody else having this board display problem using CHROME??

Post by nigelc »

.
The older (non-Chromium-based) releases of MS Edge have version numbers up to and including 44.x, e.g. 44.19041

As BigSaint's about box shows, the current releases of MS Edge are based on an open-software project called Chromium.

Google's own browser Chrome is also based on Chromium.

There are many other browsers also based on Chromium including Opera so I guess these may show the same problem.
Nigel

User avatar
BrianBURU
Senior Member Advanced Posting Guru
Senior Member Advanced Posting Guru
Posts: 176
Joined: 16 Mar 2017 15:29
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Is anybody else having this board display problem using CHROME??

Post by BrianBURU »

BigSaint wrote:
11 Mar 2021 18:59
How does one tell the difference?
By the icon. The old Edge has a solid blue lower case "e", while the new a swirling multicoloured stylised "e". You will only have it If you updated your OS during the past year.

I seem to recall that it was first offered in May 2020. I much prefer it, because it's slicker, faster, and safer for browsing. If you happen to be using the old Edge, our finger pointing at Chrome will be false.

User avatar
BigSaint
WINNER! Stampboards Poster Of The Month
WINNER! Stampboards Poster Of The Month
Posts: 83955
Joined: 16 Nov 2012 11:26
Location: Cheltenham, Australia

Re: Is anybody else having this board display problem using CHROME??

Post by BigSaint »

I vaguely remember doing the Microsoft Edge upgrade as they were bombarding me with annoying messages:


Edge Icon .png
Specialist Collector of World Horse Racing Covers, Melbourne Cup & Kentucky Derby, & JFK fdcs.

User avatar
BrianBURU
Senior Member Advanced Posting Guru
Senior Member Advanced Posting Guru
Posts: 176
Joined: 16 Mar 2017 15:29
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Is anybody else having this board display problem using CHROME??

Post by BrianBURU »

BigSaint wrote:
11 Mar 2021 23:12
I vaguely remember doing the Microsoft Edge upgrade as they were bombarding me with annoying messages:
Yes, it's called nagware! I prefer the pre Windows 10 way of doing things. There were no notifications or a flood of updates back then.....much better!

User avatar
Allanswood
WINNER! Stampboards Poster Of The Month
WINNER! Stampboards Poster Of The Month
Posts: 16472
Joined: 02 Dec 2009 11:59
Location: Goulburn NSW Australia

Re: Is anybody else having this board display problem using CHROME??

Post by Allanswood »

Has it been mentioned that if you go direct to the index/main headers and not using "view new posts", then apart from the stickies, it's all good and readable?

Greg - Looking for Goulburn Australia Cancels and Grangemouth Scotland Cancels and Covers
Member of the S.T.A.M.P Club for Slightly Twisted And Mad Philatelists - Motto: "Bring back the lick!"

User avatar
Allanswood
WINNER! Stampboards Poster Of The Month
WINNER! Stampboards Poster Of The Month
Posts: 16472
Joined: 02 Dec 2009 11:59
Location: Goulburn NSW Australia

Re: Is anybody else having this board display problem using CHROME??

Post by Allanswood »

.
Gotta love it, my latest email update from Microsoft windows with tips and trick went into my outlook junk folder! :lol:

(No, I didn't set them as junk) MS junked itself.

Greg - Looking for Goulburn Australia Cancels and Grangemouth Scotland Cancels and Covers
Member of the S.T.A.M.P Club for Slightly Twisted And Mad Philatelists - Motto: "Bring back the lick!"

User avatar
MarkM
RED Shooting Star Posting LEGEND!
RED Shooting Star Posting LEGEND!
Posts: 1044
Joined: 03 Jan 2020 21:33
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: Is anybody else having this board display problem using CHROME??

Post by MarkM »

castores wrote:
11 Mar 2021 18:12
.
Might still occur Glen, try doing an update and see what happens.

It has just happened with me, so I have immediately downloaded Firefox.....
I swap between my Ipad and my work laptop and haven't had any issues so far. I use safari on the Ipad and Chrome on the laptop as I detest Edge. Knowing how useless our IT is anything may occur at any time...... I/IT haven't updated Chrome yet. And after reading this I don't think I will, and I hope that they won't. :D

User avatar
BrianBURU
Senior Member Advanced Posting Guru
Senior Member Advanced Posting Guru
Posts: 176
Joined: 16 Mar 2017 15:29
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Is anybody else having this board display problem using CHROME??

Post by BrianBURU »

Allanswood wrote:
12 Mar 2021 10:22
Has it been mentioned that if you go direct to the index/main headers and not using "view new posts", then apart from the stickies, it's all good and readable?

Not for me! “The Board Index” is fine…..always has been, but even with “View New Posts” off, I’m still having the issue on the “Announcements” panels.

User avatar
barryfe
RED Shooting Star Posting LEGEND!
RED Shooting Star Posting LEGEND!
Posts: 2394
Joined: 01 Dec 2012 00:51
Location: Wayne, NJ, USA

Re: Is anybody else having this board display problem using CHROME??

Post by barryfe »

It's only happening in the threads that have the icon for multiple pages.
screens.JPG
icon.JPG
Barry Feddema
Wayne, NJ USA - APS, PSS, CCNY, USSS, ISWSC

User avatar
AMark
WINNER! Stampboards Poster Of The Month
WINNER! Stampboards Poster Of The Month
Posts: 13786
Joined: 01 Jul 2010 05:39
Location: Canada

Re: Is anybody else having this board display problem using CHROME??

Post by AMark »

Those that are experiencing a board display problem with Chrome, try downloading Firefox. There are no display issues while using Firefox. :)

P.S. There is nothing wrong with having Chrome and Firefox, etc..., as your internet browsers. :)
It does pay if you are humble and kind.
Cover Exchange Celebrating 10th Anniversary!
October 2021 Cover Exchange Participant List ..... OR .... October 2021 Postcard Exchange Participant List

User avatar
BigSaint
WINNER! Stampboards Poster Of The Month
WINNER! Stampboards Poster Of The Month
Posts: 83955
Joined: 16 Nov 2012 11:26
Location: Cheltenham, Australia

Re: Is anybody else having this board display problem using CHROME??

Post by BigSaint »


An interesting pickup there Barry.


Windows 10 Update
Windows 10 Update

Is this something that is going to fix the issue?
Specialist Collector of World Horse Racing Covers, Melbourne Cup & Kentucky Derby, & JFK fdcs.

User avatar
barryfe
RED Shooting Star Posting LEGEND!
RED Shooting Star Posting LEGEND!
Posts: 2394
Joined: 01 Dec 2012 00:51
Location: Wayne, NJ, USA

Re: Is anybody else having this board display problem using CHROME??

Post by barryfe »

Using clearly incorrect old school terminology. It's like something is forcing a couple "line feeds" after the page icons, which is forcing the text up behind the Bold Thread title.


incorrect.JPG
.

correct.JPG
Barry Feddema
Wayne, NJ USA - APS, PSS, CCNY, USSS, ISWSC

User avatar
BrianBURU
Senior Member Advanced Posting Guru
Senior Member Advanced Posting Guru
Posts: 176
Joined: 16 Mar 2017 15:29
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Is anybody else having this board display problem using CHROME??

Post by BrianBURU »

BigSaint wrote:
13 Mar 2021 07:26
Is this something that is going to fix the issue?
No. As I mentioned above, the same thing is also happening on my Android 10 phone, so it's not restricted to Windows. I'm not sure about a Mac/Chrome combination though.

User avatar
Global Administrator
The Sheriff
The Sheriff
Posts: 64964
Joined: 18 Apr 2007 22:57
Location: Tombstone
Contact:

Re: Is anybody else having this board display problem using CHROME??

Post by Global Administrator »

AMark wrote:
13 Mar 2021 06:31
Those that are experiencing a board display problem with Chrome, try downloading Firefox. There are no display issues while using Firefox. :)

P.S. There is nothing wrong with having Chrome and Firefox, etc..., as your internet browsers. :)

That has been pointed out several times already Mark, by me and other members. I've never had an issue of any kind, but some folks here prefer daily howling to the moon, about something they have no way of fixing. :mrgreen:

If you do not like the coffee at shop A, visit shop B. Simple fix. :idea:

I have icons for the 3 main browsers on my toolbar as do most savvy members, I am sure. One click and this world stopping "issue" solved.

Is there any possibility in the WORLD those moaning daily about this tiny glitch, on a totally FREE board, will jointly donate the few $100 for a phpBB techie to write and load a one-off tech script here to stop it - ZERO!!!!!!!

Do any of these same folks spend just a few bucks supporting this board, via buying a stampboards custom-made 1d Black COVID mask -- of course not!

https://www.stampboards.com/viewtopic.php?f=27&t=93678


Image
Margo wearing her new COVID custom designed and printed Penny Black COVID mask!
.
.
Click HERE to see superb, RARE and unusual stamps, at FIXED low nett prices, high rez photos, and NO buyer fees etc!

User avatar
Arakan
2500 Stampboards Post - Senior Guru
2500 Stampboards Post - Senior Guru
Posts: 2928
Joined: 28 Sep 2011 12:22
Location: Cypress, TX, USA

Re: Is anybody else having this board display problem using CHROME??

Post by Arakan »

Here is my observation on Chrome Version 89.0.4389.90:

This overlapping issue only occurs on topics that has both a forum description and multiple pages:
TopicOverlap.JPG


If the topic has only a forum description without any pages
TopicDescription.JPG
or has no forum description but has multiple pages, then there is no display issue.
TopicMultiplePages.JPG


The problem seems to be a change in how Chrome renders the sectional <DIV> tags. I don't know how the CSS is setup on this site but as an experiment, I took a topic and added style="float: right" on both the description and pagination sections to enforce nonoverlapping alignment and it seems to render correctly.
TopicCorrected.JPG


Anyway, I'm not an expert, just want to share my finding.
Visit my pictorial cancellation website: http://pcancels.wordpress.com
I Collect Permanent/Scenic pictorial cancellations, China, Taiwan, Japan, Art, Buddhism, Flowers, Fruits, Food/Gastronomy, Mathematics, Scenic Landscape/Landmark, UNESCO World Heritage.

User avatar
andy66
Senior Member Advanced Posting Guru
Senior Member Advanced Posting Guru
Posts: 226
Joined: 24 Dec 2018 08:17
Location: Udine, Italy

Re: Is anybody else having this board display problem using CHROME??

Post by andy66 »

There is another strange thing. I visit the stampboard forum and two other Italian forums that use exactly the SAME platform: the problem appears only on this forum (always using the same Chrome browser).
www.lafilatelia.it/forum
www.aicpm.net

Andrea
Andy66
Friuli - Italy

User avatar
Global Administrator
The Sheriff
The Sheriff
Posts: 64964
Joined: 18 Apr 2007 22:57
Location: Tombstone
Contact:

Re: Is anybody else having this board display problem using CHROME??

Post by Global Administrator »

andy66 wrote:
20 Mar 2021 00:23

I visit the stampboard forum and two other Italian forums that use exactly the SAME platform:

www.aicpm.net

This website is using software found on Noah's Ark - its Forum is using ELEVEN year old version as you can readiy see - a miracle it works at all. The other is using an old version of phpBB.

Why are some collectors here obsessed with searching for an answer for a browser problem that is readily circumvented? Use Firefox if it bothers you for some reason.

Go and play with STAMPS. :idea:

Admin

User avatar
Rog
I was online for Post Number 4 MILLION!
I was online for Post Number 4 MILLION!
Posts: 2190
Joined: 17 Jan 2010 01:59
Location: Norfolk, UK
Contact:

Re: Is anybody else having this board display problem using CHROME??

Post by Rog »

As mentioned by someone above, I can't find the original messages from the quote, but yes it just appears to be a CSS issue.

Namely (will mean something to your tech guys):

Class: .left-box

Current CSS rules for this class are:

.left-box {
float: left;
width: auto;
text-align: left;
max-width: 100%;
}

Found on line 727 of common.css

Remove the float: left and everything slips back into place.

Before:
before.JPG
After:
after.JPG
I checked a few boards and they all seem fixed if removing that CSS rule.

For anyone with a little technical knowhow you can override the current CSS in the meantime so that it fixes it for your own personal browser. Here's a Chrome extension that will do that for you:

https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/stylebot/oiaejidbmkiecgbjeifoejpgmdaleoha?hl=en-GB

That's all for Chrome by the way. I think it's important to address this issue somehow as Chrome is by far the most popular browser in use today.

I have the troublesome CSS rule overridden on my version of Chrome now and will continue to monitor it's effectiveness.

User avatar
fletches1
Founder Member Joined April 2007
Founder Member Joined April 2007
Posts: 3393
Joined: 18 Apr 2007 07:12
Location: Gold Coast, Qld
Contact:

Re: Is anybody else having this board display problem using CHROME??

Post by fletches1 »

.
Moderator/Admin hat on -

Congratulations, I think that fixed it..... :D :D :D :D :D
Stamp Collecting does not have to be Expensive to be Fun ! - .
Stamp Mall over 75,000 items in my Online Store !! on 128 bit encrypted SSL Secure Server.

User avatar
Global Administrator
The Sheriff
The Sheriff
Posts: 64964
Joined: 18 Apr 2007 22:57
Location: Tombstone
Contact:

Re: Is anybody else having this board display problem using CHROME??

Post by Global Administrator »

.
Steve .. not so sure - addig this into Chrome -

https://stampboards.com/search.php?search_id=newposts&sid=709325fb922ee76a8d971f3fd66451c3

Back to Firefox, where it has always been perfect. :)

Glen
.
Click HERE to see superb, RARE and unusual stamps, at FIXED low nett prices, high rez photos, and NO buyer fees etc!

User avatar
Allanswood
WINNER! Stampboards Poster Of The Month
WINNER! Stampboards Poster Of The Month
Posts: 16472
Joined: 02 Dec 2009 11:59
Location: Goulburn NSW Australia

Re: Is anybody else having this board display problem using CHROME??

Post by Allanswood »

Using Chrome, looks good to me, no broken lines.

Greg - Looking for Goulburn Australia Cancels and Grangemouth Scotland Cancels and Covers
Member of the S.T.A.M.P Club for Slightly Twisted And Mad Philatelists - Motto: "Bring back the lick!"

User avatar
fletches1
Founder Member Joined April 2007
Founder Member Joined April 2007
Posts: 3393
Joined: 18 Apr 2007 07:12
Location: Gold Coast, Qld
Contact:

Re: Is anybody else having this board display problem using CHROME??

Post by fletches1 »

You probably need to clear the cache.

Use Ctrl +f5
Stamp Collecting does not have to be Expensive to be Fun ! - .
Stamp Mall over 75,000 items in my Online Store !! on 128 bit encrypted SSL Secure Server.

User avatar
Global Administrator
The Sheriff
The Sheriff
Posts: 64964
Joined: 18 Apr 2007 22:57
Location: Tombstone
Contact:

Re: Is anybody else having this board display problem using CHROME??

Post by Global Administrator »

.
Well done Fletches .... your tweak to the backend seems to have worked!

Yes F5 did the job to clear the cache on Chrome.

Glen
.
Click HERE to see superb, RARE and unusual stamps, at FIXED low nett prices, high rez photos, and NO buyer fees etc!

User avatar
Finchley Chris
RED Shooting Star Posting LEGEND!
RED Shooting Star Posting LEGEND!
Posts: 1403
Joined: 28 Nov 2012 19:29
Location: London, UK

Re: Is anybody else having this board display problem using CHROME??

Post by Finchley Chris »

For me too. :)

User avatar
makielb
I was online for our Birthday Number 5!
I was online for our Birthday Number 5!
Posts: 3058
Joined: 18 Nov 2009 00:41
Location: Ann Arbor & Paradise, Michigan, USA

Re: Is anybody else having this board display problem using CHROME??

Post by makielb »

All of a sudden everything looks normal this morning. Whatever was done has apparently worked, since I did nothing on my end.
Mike
Why do we need perforations? Scissors are cheap!

User avatar
OldDuffer1
WINNER! Stampboards Poster Of The Month
WINNER! Stampboards Poster Of The Month
Posts: 6549
Joined: 20 Feb 2012 02:32
Location: EDINBURGH, UK

Re: Is anybody else having this board display problem using CHROME??

Post by OldDuffer1 »

All sorted- many thanks! (Firefox seems to have died on my computer!)

User avatar
Stamp collector
RED Shooting Star Posting LEGEND!
RED Shooting Star Posting LEGEND!
Posts: 2041
Joined: 10 Oct 2019 01:47
Location: Goa, India

Re: Is anybody else having this board display problem using CHROME??

Post by Stamp collector »

Manually cleaning the cache worked for me.
Thanks Fletches and Admin.

User avatar
lesbootman
I was online for Post Number 7 MILLION!
I was online for Post Number 7 MILLION!
Posts: 17132
Joined: 23 May 2012 23:32
Location: Bury, England

Re: Is anybody else having this board display problem using CHROME??

Post by lesbootman »

Worked for me too, thanks fletches1 :D
Our days are happier when we give people a bit of our heart rather than a piece of our mind!

User avatar
nigelc
I was online for our Birthday Number 3!
I was online for our Birthday Number 3!
Posts: 5735
Joined: 10 May 2008 02:36
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Is anybody else having this board display problem using CHROME??

Post by nigelc »

.
Yes, reloading the page ignoring the cache worked for me.

I used Control + Shift + r to do this as Dell has remapped my F5 key.
Nigel

User avatar
Rog
I was online for Post Number 4 MILLION!
I was online for Post Number 4 MILLION!
Posts: 2190
Joined: 17 Jan 2010 01:59
Location: Norfolk, UK
Contact:

Re: Is anybody else having this board display problem using CHROME??

Post by Rog »

fletches1 wrote:
23 Mar 2021 10:49
Congratulations, I think that fixed it..... :D :D :D :D :D
Great!

User avatar
RevRed+
2500 Stampboards Post - Senior Guru
2500 Stampboards Post - Senior Guru
Posts: 4219
Joined: 04 Aug 2020 03:02
Location: Waterford, Ireland

Re: Is anybody else having this board display problem using CHROME??

Post by RevRed+ »



Worked for me too! Thanks fletches1 :D
Red.

User avatar
kuikka
WINNER! Stampboards Poster Of The Month
WINNER! Stampboards Poster Of The Month
Posts: 19677
Joined: 18 Oct 2014 03:17
Location: Tampere, Finland

Re: Is anybody else having this board display problem using CHROME??

Post by kuikka »

nigelc wrote:
24 Mar 2021 05:25
.
Yes, reloading the page ignoring the cache worked for me.

I used Control + Shift + r to do this as Dell has remapped my F5 key.
This worked for me, too.

User avatar
fletches1
Founder Member Joined April 2007
Founder Member Joined April 2007
Posts: 3393
Joined: 18 Apr 2007 07:12
Location: Gold Coast, Qld
Contact:

Re: Is anybody else having this board display problem using CHROME??

Post by fletches1 »

RevRed+ wrote:
24 Mar 2021 07:46


Worked for me too! Thanks fletches1 :D
We should also thank Rog, he identified the cause and solution...
Stamp Collecting does not have to be Expensive to be Fun ! - .
Stamp Mall over 75,000 items in my Online Store !! on 128 bit encrypted SSL Secure Server.

User avatar
David Benson
5000 Great Posts - WHAT a Milestone!
5000 Great Posts - WHAT a Milestone!
Posts: 5191
Joined: 29 May 2007 09:05
Location: Sydney

Re: Is anybody else having this board display problem using CHROME??

Post by David Benson »

It worked for me too,

David B.

User avatar
Stewie1980
2500 Stampboards Post - Senior Guru
2500 Stampboards Post - Senior Guru
Posts: 2936
Joined: 18 Oct 2011 23:28
Location: Nijmegen, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Is anybody else having this board display problem using CHROME??

Post by Stewie1980 »

Everything back to normal on my pc this morning. I didn't use one of the tricks mentioned above. Maybe a new automatic Chrome update?

User avatar
Global Administrator
The Sheriff
The Sheriff
Posts: 64964
Joined: 18 Apr 2007 22:57
Location: Tombstone
Contact:

Re: Is anybody else having this board display problem using CHROME??

Post by Global Administrator »

.
All fixed now and thread locked.

Admin

User avatar
vicaf60
2500 Stampboards Post - Senior Guru
2500 Stampboards Post - Senior Guru
Posts: 4099
Joined: 22 Oct 2013 04:59
Location: Minsk, Belarus

Is this Bug in the New Posts Page with Me Only?

Post by vicaf60 »

Recently (for 2 or 3 days), I've been having a problem with the way the New Posts page is shown on my PC monitor - the names of some thread are overlaid:

Screen shot.jpg

It is not critical as I can still read the names, and the threads themselves are presented correctly when opened.
Yet, it's rather annoying.

So, I would like to know if someone else experiences the same problem, and what can be done to eliminate it.

Locked

Return to “New to Bulletin Boards? A few useful tips and technical threads. AND add your suggestions too.”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest