Page 1 of 1

Gay & Lesbian History on Stamps. Website/Facebook/Meetings

Posted: 31 Jan 2020 11:54
by jps55liquefy
The objectives of Gay and Lesbian History on Stamps are to promote the interest in the collection, study and dissemination of knowledge of world-wide philatelic material that depicts:

1) Notable men & women and their contributions to society for whom historical evidence exists of homosexual or bisexual orientation
2) Mythology, historical events and ideas significant in the history of gay culture
3) Flora and fauna scientifically proven to having prominent homosexual behavior.

Even though emphasis is placed on the above aspects of stamp collecting, GLHS strongly encourages other philatelic endeavors.

Please visit our website for more information, including journals since 1982(!) and a membership application:

http://www.glhsonline.org/

Please also visit our facebook page:

https://www.facebook.com/GLHSC/

Next meetings:

London 2020 International Stamp Exhibition, Wednesday, May 6, 10:00am to 11:50am

Great American Stamp Show 2020, Hartford, Connecticut, August 20 to 23 (specific time to be determined)

Re: Gay and Lesbian History on Stamps

Posted: 02 Feb 2020 08:19
by Uppercanadian
You have an excellent website there JPS! An interesting topic that I am pretty sure was unheard of 20 years ago. A positive sign of the times!!

Re: Gay and Lesbian History on Stamps

Posted: 25 Mar 2020 01:33
by jps55liquefy
Our meeting in London has been cancelled.
Details for our meeting in Hartford, Connecticut, have not yet been settled.

Uppercanadian, thank you for the compliment!

Re: Gay & Lesbian History on Stamps. Website/Facebook/Meetin

Posted: 26 May 2020 08:20
by jps55liquefy
Sadly, we will not be meeting in Hartford in August because the Great American Stamp Show 2020 has been cancelled.

It is likely that we will meet during the Great American Stamp Show 2021 in Rosemont, Illinois (not far from Chicago's O'Hare airport), scheduled for August 12 to 15.

Re: Gay & Lesbian History on Stamps. Website/Facebook/Meetings

Posted: 17 Jun 2020 10:07
by jps55liquefy
Gay and Lesbian History on Stamps will meet via the Internet this year due to the cancellation of the Great American Stamp Show. This virtual meeting will occur on Thursday, August 20, 2020, at 6:00 p.m. PDT. (That's 9:00 p.m. EDT for New York, 2:00 a.m. BST on Friday for London, and 11:00 a.m. AEST on Friday for Sydney.) There will be a special program presented during the meeting in addition to our annual meeting agenda. Members will receive invitations automatically.

Guests are welcome to attend. To receive a guest invitation, please email glhstamps2 [at] gmail.com and request one.

Re: Gay & Lesbian History on Stamps. Website/Facebook/Meetings

Posted: 13 Jul 2020 18:16
by DigitalPhilatelist
.
Good website! Are you on Twitter?

I couldn't find you - great social media platform for specialist groups. :D

Re: Gay & Lesbian History on Stamps. Website/Facebook/Meetings

Posted: 15 Jul 2020 11:33
by jps55liquefy
DigitalPhilatelist wrote:
13 Jul 2020 18:16
.
Good website! Are you on Twitter?

I couldn't find you - great social media platform for specialist groups. :D
Thank you for the compliment.

No, GLHS is not on Twitter. Thank you for the suggestion.

Re: Gay & Lesbian History on Stamps. Website/Facebook/Meetings

Posted: 15 Jul 2020 12:49
by DigitalPhilatelist
Love to have you join the community there! :D Keep up the great work!

Re: Gay & Lesbian History on Stamps. Website/Facebook/Meetings

Posted: 29 Jul 2020 18:45
by jujuboy
Awesome site, a wealth of information!

Re: Gay & Lesbian History on Stamps. Website/Facebook/Meetings

Posted: 21 Aug 2020 10:47
by jps55liquefy
Thank you, jujuboy, for the compliment.

Our virtual annual meeting begins in a little over an hour.

Re: Gay & Lesbian History on Stamps. Website/Facebook/Meetings

Posted: 03 Oct 2020 23:41
by jps55liquefy
Gay and Lesbian History on Stamps has chosen to hold quarterly virtual meetings. The next meeting will be on Tuesday, 8 December 2020, at 4:30 p.m. PST (that's 7:30 p.m. EST for New York, 12:30 a.m. GMT on Wednesday for London, and 11:30 a.m. AEDT on Wednesday for Sydney).

The program will include a presentation on filmmaker, actor, and author, Edward Davis Wood, Jr.

Members will receive an invitation via e-mail. Guests wishing to attend should contact glhstamps2 [at] gmail.com and request an invitation.