GB perforated 1d red QV slight off centre: is this an 'error' stamp?

Stampboards has 1000s of regular readers who WILL take the time to help out even with the most basic question. If you are new to stamps - or taking up the hobby after a long break, there is a lot to learn. PLEASE do not be shy in asking the simplest of questions .. members here will be delighted to help you with the answers!

Moderator: Volunteer Moderator Team

Rooster1
Blue Star less than 5 posts NEWBIE!
Blue Star less than 5 posts NEWBIE!

GB perforated 1d red QV slight off centre: is this an 'error' stamp?

Post by Rooster1 »

Hi there. I found a Penny Red in a collection I recently acquired. Low and behold, it may be an 'error' stamp. I'm new to all of this and am having a great time learning.

Can anyone tell me if this would be classified as an error stamp? You will see that the perforation is a bit offset and edges into the stamp to the right.

The left-hand side is obviously offset as well. Kind of interesting. Any value here? I'm looking forward to your reply.

Thank you in advance. Rick

20231222_193942.jpg
Last edited by Global Admin on 27 Dec 2023 16:22, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Expanded very vague and LAZY 3 word heading, to make more sense to members, (read Rule 10) and turned it into a QUESTION of some kind, and moved to correct Forum, and added pars and spacing.
Sark
BLUE Shooting Star Posting GURU!!

Re: Penny Red Error?

Post by Sark »

Rooster! Hi

This is and is not an error!

The first stamps of 1840 onwards, were of course issued imperforate with the first perforated versions appearing from 1848 onwards.

Obviously the stamps were supposed to be perforated between the designs, but as is the case with your illustration this often didn't quite happen. Indeed in the early years it is probably fair to say that if not the majority were mis-perfed a significant % were.

So in these early days should this be considered an error or the norm?